Florida law requires an injured worker to report a workplace injury or accident within 30 days from the date of the injury, or when they knew or should have know of the injury. While there are some exceptions to this 30 day rule, failure to report the injury may result in the workers’ compensation adjuster or insurance company denying your claim for medical and lost wage benefits.
Unfortunately, even after reporting an injury, Florida’s workers’ compensation laws require an injured worker to prove that they reported the accident as simply saying they reported it may not be enough. This typically happens when the employer fails to report the injury and the workers’ compensation insurance company uses that as a defense to provide benefits. In this instance it is usually an, “employee said vs. employer said” disagreement that may have to ultimately go to a judge to decide who is more credible. Most injured workers report their injury, but their employers fail to report the injury to their supervisors, Human Resources or the worker’ compensation insurance company. Their bosses are still employed and don’t want to risk getting in trouble for failing to report the injury and co-workers are not likely to put their necks on the chopping block in order to help the injured worker.
In these circumstances, many injured workers are thankful they hired an experienced workers’ compensation attorney like the ones at the Law Offices of Franks, Koenig & Neuwelt. Attorney Eli A. Franks said, “Sometimes verbally reporting an injury to an employer is not enough. Documents get lost, forms are forgotten and at the end of the day an injured worker cannot rely on their supervisor to help preserve their claim.”
If you have been hurt at work, the dedicated attorneys at the Law Offices of Franks, Koenig & Neuwelt have developed several methods to ensure that the reporting of an injury cannot be refuted or denied. If there is even a possibility that a supervisor, boss or superior failed to report your claim after you told them that you were hurt at work, you need to immediately contact a workers’ compensation attorney at the Law Offices of Franks, Koenig & Neuwelt for a free and confidential consultation. If you do not have the ability to call at (561) 616-3800, contact them online to submit an inquiry that will be provided to one of the attorneys within minutes of hitting submit. If you have been hurt at work any delay can cost you the right to receive medical care and lost wages paid for by the workers’ compensation insurance company. Don’t risk your health and welfare by waiting to act.